Food from the Garden - Summer Salad and Spinach in Cream Sauce

The garden is full of vegetables now, so I made  summer salad:

100 g Danish smoked cheese from Funen
1 Dl creme fraiche 18%
½ cucumber, diced (remove the seeds first)
radishes sliced/diced

The tomatoes are not from the  garden. They are not ripe yet, but they will soon be. Some are slightly red now.
These are a gift from  COOP:
This message appeared in my Coop-app, and it turned out to be a tray of tomatoes.


The New Zealand Spinach is fine now, and I made butter toasted white bread with spinach in cream sauce.

I let the spinach simmer for 5 minutes with the water sticking to the leaves (after having rinsed them  three times in water). Drain any remaining water and pour in a splash of whipping cream and a sprinkle of salt. Let cook until the cream thickens, and meanwhile make the butter toast.

New Zealand spinach has the advantage that it doesn't contain oxalic acid , and it sows itself willingly in the garden.

Dish Cloth 61

Cast on 60 stitches and knit 4 rows, and then pattern. Remember to begin and end all rows with 2 k.
When the cloth has the desired length you knit 4 rows and bind off.


1.row:  knit 2.row: purl 3.row: knit 4.row: 4 p, 1 k, 3 p 5.row: 2 k, 3 p, 3 k 6.row: 2 p, 5 k, 1 p 7.row: 1 k, 5 p, 2 k 8.row: 1 k, 2 p, 3 k, 2 p 9.row: 7 p, 1 k 10.row: 3 p, 3 k, 2 p 11.row: 1 p, 2 k, 1 p, 2 k, 2 p 12.row: 2 k, 5 p, 1 k 13.row: 1 k, 2 p, 1 k, 2 p, 2 k 14.row: as row 12 15.row: as row 11 16.row: as row 10 17.row: as row 9 18.row: as row 8 19.row: as row 7 20.row: as row 6 21.row: as row 5 22.row: as row 4

Morello Cherries, African Country Road Cake and Walnut Schnapps

The morello cherries are ripe now, and there are lots of them this year. They go very well with chocolate cake, so I made African Country Road Cake:

African Country Road Cake
2 eggsStir the ingredients together  Bake ½ hour at 180 degrees.

Melt the butter and combine with the rest. Spread it on top of the cake.2 Dl sugar1 Dl milk2½ Dl flour2 tsp baking powder1 tsp vanilla sugar2 tbsp cocoa powder1½ Dl rapeseed oil
Frosting:100 g butter2 Dl icing sugar8 tbsp coffee2 tbsp cocoa powder4 Dl desiccated coconut
I also made walnut schnapps because a big branch fell of the tree.

Lillian Boxfish Takes a Walk - Kathleen Rooney

Lillian Boxfish Takes a Walk by Kathleen Rooney

The novel is  inspired by the poet Margaret Fishback's life. She was both a poet and a famous advertice writer at  R.H. Macy's.
In the story she is called Lillian Boxfish. We follow the  84 (85)- year old Lillian on a 10 miles walk in New York to  places that had meant something in her life, and meanwhile the story of her life unfolds. The walk takes place on the last evening of 1984. The structure of the novel is well thought, but unfortunately I wasn't engrossed. I never really got interested in the  main character, but maybe the walk in New York would have been much more interesting for someone with local knowledge.

Homemade Garlic Powder

I have previously blogged about garlic. These are harvested from the ones I have planted in clusters. They don't get very big, but they are easily peeled because they haven't yet made cloves.I use my Bamix  SliceSy to cut them in thin slices, and then they are spread on baking paper:

I dry them in the oven at about 60 degrees. These took about 6 hours (hot air). When they are completely dry I grind them in my Bamix Wet and Dry Mill, and the powder is poured into a glass container:

Dish Cloth 60

Cast on 60 stitches and knit 4 rows. Then you knit the pattern, and when the cloth has the desired length you knit 4 rows and bind off.


1.row: 2 p, 1 k, 2 p, 1 k 2.row: 1 p, 1 k, 3 p, 1 k 3.row: knit 4.row: as row 2 5.row: as row 1 6.row: purl

X X 5