Inspector Singh Investigates: A Calamitous Chinese Killing - Shamini Flint

Shamini Flint

 A Calamitous Chinese Killing by Shamini Flint

Shamini Flint has created a marvelous figure. It is the chubby foodie Sikh, Inspector Singh. Furthermore the stories are exciting and well told, and each story takes place in a new country.  Shamini Flint must know these countries very well, because the atmosphere in each novel is very different depending on which country the story takes place.
In this novel we are in China. Inspector Singh is summoned to Beijing to help solve a murder.
The first secretary of the Singapore Embassy wants his help in finding out who killed her son. Singh gets help from  former police officer Li Jun. It is a story of corruption, reeducation of dissidents, illegal organ transplants and ruthless civil servants.

I have ordered No. 7 in the series. It is at the moment the last one, but hopefully more are in the making.

In the series provisionally issued:

A Most Peculiar Malaysian Murder - Inspector Singh Investigates 1
A Bali Conspiracy Most Foul - Inspector Singh Investigates 2
The Singapore School of Villainy - Inspector Singh Investigates 3
A Deadly Cambodian Crime Spree - Inspector Singh Investigates 4
A Curious Indian Cadaver - Inspector Singh Investigates 5
A Calamitous Chinese Killing - Inspector Singh Investigates 6
A Frightfully English Execution - Inspector Singh Investigates 7